Timeline

The work being undertaken as part of The Next Chapter is the latest part of a rich history of transport and infrastructure developments in Halifax.

2014

Piece Hall closes for extensive refurbishment. The Town Centre Delivery Plan is drafted to complete regeneration of Halifax Town Centre and Princess Buildings refurbishment. 

2013

Broad Street Plaza retail and cinema development opens. Orangebox, a new state of the art centre for young people, opens.

 

2010

Grand Central restores direct trains to London from Halifax for the first time in over 30 years.

 

2000s

‘Woolshops’ opens with weavers’ cottages refurbished into modern retail units. Halifax Parish Church is granted Minster status and the Town Team is formed as part of Halifax Renaissance programme.

1992

Eureka!, the national children’s museum, opens as an interactive educational museum for children.

 

1980s

Calderdale Council's 'Inheritance Decade', a unique model of urban and economic regeneration, begins. Dean Clough reopens and becomes a nationally renowned mixed-use mill complex.

 

1974

Burdock Way bypass opens. Calderdale Council is established and local government re-organisation places Halifax at the heart of the new Borough of Calderdale.

1930

Halifax Road Engineer, Percy Shaw, invents Cat's Eyes.

 

1890

Construction of Halifax Borough Market by Leeming Brothers of Halifax.

1890

Thomas Mackintosh invents sticky toffee, eventually growing Mackintosh’s into a global company. Quality Street, one of the firm's leading products, is still manufactured in Halifax today.

1863

Hailfax Town Hall is built from a design by Sir Charles Barry, who also designed the Houses of Parliament.

1853

Halifax railway under construction, and the Halifax Building Society is established.

1848

Incorporation of the Borough of Halifax.

1841

Halifax in a period of boom growth during industrial revolution, while the first mill is built by the Crossley family at Dean Clough.

1779

Textile boom leads to opening of Piece Hall, with 315 merchant rooms.

1759

Construction starts on Calder & Hebble Navigation canal.

1719

Halifax grows into a small market town of 6000 people.

1700s

Worsted production in Calderdale began with ‘Shalloons’, a fabric used for dresses and lining coats, and ‘Bays’, a mixed cloth made with a worsted warp and a woollen weft. Flowered and figured fancy worsted cloth became a local speciality, widely exported to Portugal, Spain, and the Mediterranean

1555

The Halifax Act of 1555 shows that people regularly bought their own wool and took it home to spin into yarn and weave into cloth – a method known as the domestic system.

1500

Yeomen used the wealth they accumulated from farming and textiles to build houses that reflected their position at the top of local society. Architectural historians call their distinctive regional style ‘Halifax’ houses.

1475

Calderdale was England’s largest producer of Kersey cloth. The volume of woollen cloth sold at the Halifax market was five times that sold at Leeds and eight times that sold at Bradford.

1437 - 1480

The Parish Church in Halifax was rebuilt and enlarged. Today, it is known as Halifax Minster.

1290

By the late 1290s one of the first fulling mills had been built in Calderdale, where the paths from Sowerby and Warley crossed the rivers Calder and Ryburn. The village that grew up became Sowerby Bridge.

1086

Local settlements named in Doomsday book.